… but I digress

Just another WordPress.com site

I’m Losing Tons of Friends Fighting Racism. And I’m Totally OK with that. November 4, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — jerzygirl45 @ 7:41 pm

AfroSapiophile

Dual-Identity, Double Conscience

As an Afro-American man in this nation called the United States, it is a known fact that at the professional level one must possess a dual-identity.  I don’t know too much about everyone else, but for me in these trying times maintaining such a thing is driving me to the brink of insanity.  Professional black man by day, abolitionist writer/speaker by night, there is a severe conflict within myself.  All of the micro-aggressions suffered at work.  All of the near-blatant racist ideas uttered by my colleagues.  How am I supposed to soak up, the notion for example, that a guy that I had Christmas dinner with would plow through a set of protesters with his 2010 Mustang?

riley-eyeThis is how racism works: you can have friends, people who hold you dear even, have outright racist ideologies towards your skin tone.  You can have girlfriends, boyfriends and…

View original post 1,275 more words

 

Leave a Reply

