… but I digress

Just another WordPress.com site

Roasted Chick Peas January 28, 2014


 

Time for more food experiments, ya’ll!!

 

 

 

This time I tried roasted chick peas. I had read about them: they’re supposed to be a good healthy, vitamin rich snack, blah blah blah …. Then a couple of weeks ago I got this free* sample box from Conscious Box. Interesting stuff in there – crunchy, hippy-dippy eco-friendly products. One of said products was a little bag of roasted chickpeas. Definitely satisfied a crunch urge and they didn’t taste half bad. So I went Googling for ideas. I skimmed various recipes and they all seemed fairly simple, so I saved a couple to my Pinterest board entitled “Food, Glorious, Food” (aka Recipes That I Will Probably Never Make But I Can Dream, Can’t I?).

 

On my last grocery trip I made a point of grabbing 2 cans of garbanzo beans/chick peas. I figured I could use one for a savory roasted snack and one for a sweet roasted snack. After having one of the cans in the middle of my kitchen table for about 4 days, I finally decided today (I did this on Sunday) would be “the day”.

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - OPEN CAN (2)

Crunchy goodness – you shall be mine!

 

So I go to Pinterest – and can’t find exactly the recipe I had in my mind to use. After a few false starts I finally found what I was looking for, but by then I had come across about 5 other ones that looked equally interesting.

 

 

PINTEREST

 

Choices. Lots and lots of choices

 

 

Well, not the actual recipes, because they’re all basically the same: drain, rinse, pat dry, season, and roast for 40 minutes, let cool, then seal in an airtight container. The interesting part came with the different seasoning combos. I did find one that had a direction I hadn’t seen in all the others – peel the chickpeas.

 

The writer stated that she did it so that all the seasoning wouldn’t come off on the peel after they were roasted, but really????? Peel them? ‘Oh good grief’ – I thought. ‘Ain’t nobody got time for that’ So peeling was not gonna happen. Or so I thought.

 

Another thing I hadn’t noticed before was, every recipe calls for 2 cans of peas. I didn’t want to use up both just in case I messed up, so I thought I would cut the recipe in half.

 

So I drained and rinsed one can, and poured them out on several paper towels to get them dry. When I looked it seemed like the skins were practically coming off already so I ended up peeling them after all. It was ridiculously easy but time consuming. Also I see why all the recipes called for 2 cans: 1 can is kind of a small amount, not to mention it seems a waste to crank up your oven to 400 degrees for such a tiny output.

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - PEELED (2)

What is this, like, a hobbit serving?

 

So I decided to do the savory and the sweet at the same time.

 

I have to admit I had already developed somewhat of a bias against chick peas. In the past I had tried them in a stew and I didn’t like the texture – somewhere between hard bean and soft — something. It was a little off-putting. Then this time, when I opened up the cans, they smelled … weird. Not off, not sour, or putrid, just a weird, indeterminate smell. Also, although peeling off the skins was fairly easy the peas were a little slippery and it was a really kinda slimy.

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - SLIMY (2)

Yeah, that looks … yummy.

 

Also, taking the skin off was like peeling dead skin off your feet after a hot bath.

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - SKINS (3)

Yuck!

 

 

But too late to turn back now

 

After peeling both cans, I patted them with more paper towels, and let them sit out for about 30 minutes to dry up some more, then I preheated the oven to 400 degrees.

 

Savory Application:

I used a garlic parmesan recipe, found here.

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - SAVORY (12)

 

 

 

 

The changes I made were as follows:

   

    -used garlic powder instead of minced garlic

    -threw in some onion powder, too

    -used regular black pepper, not freshly ground

    -only used 1 can, and I don’t know if the was bpa-free (???)

    -used a grated parmesan/romano combo not just grated parm alone

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - SAVORY (3)

 

 

 

Sweet Application:

 

I used an agave roasted recipe, found here.

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - SWEET (6)

 

The changes I made on this were:

 

    -used regular iodized salt, not sea salt

    -used regular black pepper, not white pepper

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - SWEET (3)

 

One thing I noticed neither of these recipes mentioned was that the pan should be covered in either parchment paper, or foil (which is what I got from the comments** of people who had tried it). So after this adjustment it was off to the oven.

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - IN THE OVEN (2)

This is gonna be sooo good!

 

Results:

 

So after 45 minutes have passed I go to check on the snacks, excited to see if they’re at the right level of crispy and this is what I find:

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - EN FUEGO (1)

Garbanzo el Fuego

 

Well – I don’t think that’s what’s supposed to happen. That’s just a little too crispy. [I think I need to do some more investigating.]

 

[Opens windows. Turns on fan. Pouts at the ruined potential of snack goodness] Le sigh.

 

Sooooo … I did a little more investigating. Some other recipes said I should check and stir them every 8 – 10 minutes. Yeah, that might’ve been good to know. The savory pan seems to have one lone non-blackened survivor and I see a couple of potential edible nuggets on the sweet pan.

 

 

 

ROASTED CHICK PEAS - EN FUEGO COMBO

SAVORY     –     SWEET

 

Once things cool off and the firemen leave (just kidding!) I’ll try them and see what could have been. Or choke on the sooty chick pea ashes lodged in my throat.

 

[Still pouting, thoughts turning to other snack options]

 

The pans are cool now – that one savory nugget? Crunchy, with an ever so slightly cheesy sawdust flavor. The sweet nuggets? *cough* *hack* *oh good lord, what have I done?* *this could be a new form of torture at gitmo*

 

 

CHOKE

 

Not good. Not. Good. At. All.

 

Ewwww – and now the whole house has that weird garbanzo bean smell. I knew I should have tried the 3-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookie recipe instead. Oh well, maybe tomorrow.

 

 

TRY AGAIN

 

 

*The box and contents were free, the shipping was not. Normally I’d say “screw that” but I was in a good mood and decided to pony up the nominal charge (maybe $4.95, I think?)

 

**As a general rule of thumb, it’s never good to read internet comments. It’ll just make you cranky and despair for all of humanity. I think the only exception is on recipe websites. Usually it’s people sharing their experience with the recipe, letting you know what worked for them and what didn’t; how they tweaked it and made substitutions and improvements. The next time I try this I will def read more of the comments and make adjustments accordingly.


 

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers